Welcome to Lyon Off-Road Certification Center
This site is dedicated for all people who love off-road riding in the State of Oregon.
JANUARY 1ST, 2014 NO MATTER WHAT AGE, EVERYONE MUST HAVE THEIR ATV SAFETY EDUCATION CARD.
As of January 1, 2012 the Safety Education Card (free online course at www.rideatvoregon.org) for adults 50 years old and younger or if you are supervising children under the age of 16, you are required to take the free online course. The Hands on Evaluation is NOT required for adults ages 16 and older!! But if you need the Hands on Evaluation as a job requirement, Just ask us about it when you call.
Lyon Off-Road Certification Center offers off-road Hands on Evaluation required by the State of Oregon, for class III (motorcycle) and
class I ATV (Quad). We evaluate your child for the hands on evaluation for the minimum standards required by the state of Oregon.
Both Class I and Class III are offered the same day and same time. No additional cost for out of state participants!
3/15/20: At this time, Lyon Off-Road Certification classes have been
suspended until further notice. Sorry for any inconvenience.
ALL HANDS ON STUDENTS MUST HAVE:
SAFETY EDUCATION CARD (NO CARD MEANS WE CANNOT CERTIFY THE STUDENT)
A CLASS RESERVATION MADE AT LEAST 24 HOURS IN ADVANCED (NO WALK INS AT ALL)
ALL STUDENTS MUST BE ABLE TO SHOW PROPER KNOWLEDGE OF RIDER FIT AND OREGON RIDING LAWS
IF THE STUDENT IS BRINGING THEIR OWN BIKE, IT MUST MEET OREGON LAW REQUIRMENTS
FLAG AT RIGHT HEIGHT
DOES NOT EXCEED SOUND LAW
FIT TO RIDER FIT REQUIREMENTS
VECHICLE MUST HAVE PROPER TAGS
Lyon Off-Road certifcation requires all students be 6 years old or older for ATV's. Oregon Law has the minimum age operation requirement for dirt bike riders at 7 years old. There is no minimum age for taking the online safety course.
The study guide and testing materials are written at an eighth-grade reading level. As a result, we strongly encourage parents to go through the course materials and test with their child/children. Parents who pass the test will receive their ATV Safety Education Card as well. Even parents who choose not to take the final test find the course both informative and enjoyable
At Lyon Off-Road...
Our trained evaluators work with your child by teaching them proper skills and riding positions to acheive rider fit. Our evaluators value your child and the safety of families in Oregon. RESPECT AND PROTECT is the main goal in building safe, smart and ethical riders in Oregon.
Oregon Law Requires...
Youth to have completed the Oregon Parks on-line Safety Awareness Course (Free) prior to getting hands-on evaluation or training. Students must bring their card or completion certificate with them when they arrive for our hands-on course.
Click Here - to start the Oregon Parks course.
Lyon Off-Road does not go according to cc size or minimum age we go according to "rider fit" that the State of Oregon requires.
If you "rider fit" your quad, you can bring it to class to be evaluated on the course. We want to make sure that you are out riding, fitting YOUR quad.
Please be patient with us as Lyon Off-Road Certification Center is trying to get evalutation locations in as many areas as we can, to try to serve you to make sure that all who want to ride in the State of Oregon gets their Hands on Evaluation and their Safety Education Card that the State of Oregon requires. Please know and understand we at Lyon Off-Road do NOT get the Oregon State Subsidy as we are NOT a large State wide Non-profit Organization, We are a family owned small business and doing our best to get the job done that the state has required.